2018 Awards


Larry Abernathy Award


Mayor Larry Abernathy, the mayor of the City of Clemson, SC, had a passion for the International Town and Gown Association (ITGA) and it was through his initiatives that ITGA was created in 2003 and held its first conference in 2006. Remembering his deep appreciation for collaboration between City, University and Students, this new Larry Abernathy Award will be presented annually at the ITGA conference, which is usually held in June.

Submit a Nomination for the Larry Abernathy Award


2018 Winner:

The City of San Marcos and Texas State University for ACT-San Marcos
The City of Athens and Ohio University for Fostering a Sense of Place: Big
Collaborations in a Small University Town  

View Submission

View Past Winners


The ITGA Presidential Excellence Award

In 2013, the Presidential Excellence Award was created as a way to highlight ITGA members who demonstrate exceptional performance in one of the following areas: Volunteer Service, Leadership, or Educational Achievement.

Submit a Nomination for the ITGA Presidential Excellence Award


2018 Winners:

Marquette University and the City of Milwaukee for Near West Side Partners​ Colorado State University and the City of Fort Collins for CityWorksEDU​
City of Ogden, UT and Weber State University for OgdenCAN

View Submission

View Past Winners
Office of Student & Community Relations, University of Vermont for the
ISGOOD Neighborhood Revitalization Project

View Submission